my next photographic exhibition – #beyondbinaries: queer and the reconstruction of identity

#beyondbinaries: queer and the reconstruction of identity
– a photographic exhibition by Germaine de Larch

“There are more things […] in heaven and earth, Than are dreamt of in your philosophy.” – Shakespeare, Hamlet

These images are an artistic exploration and performance of being and experience beyond binaries. My vision for this project stems from the need to document the queer, carnivalesque space I have excavated for myself that exists beyond the constructs of reality, identity and gender as binaries, dualities and stereotypes. ‘#beyondbinaries: queer and the reconstruction of identity’ is an exploration, through self-portraits and portraits, of the contradictions, multiplicities and fluidity inherent in queer lived experience.

My work is, first and foremost, a vehicle through which I perform the continuing creative reconstruction of my self. It is a way for me to document who I am, who I am becoming, and provides me with a stage upon which to explore my self and my performance of continuously and unendingly recreating and reconstructing my fluid identity and gender identity. It is a stage from which I can share that de- and reconstruction with my audience.

My portraits tell the stories of those who use a similar stage to renegotiate and reconstruct their own identity. My images are a conscious choice to tell my own story and collaboratively tell the stories of my community, my city. My work is thus a collaboration with people and places on a journey of who they are, who are interested in playing with their identities, who want to explore the creative possibilities outside of the binaries, dualities and stereotypes constructed for us.

Germaine de Larch is a writer, visual artist and gender artivist living, working and playing in Johannesburg.

9 September at 12:00 until 13 September at 14:00

Join Wits Pride’s exhibition of the work of Germaine de Larch – #beyondbinaries: queer and the reconstruction of identity You can view this incredible exhibition from 12pm-14:00pm daily throughout the Wits Pride 2013 week, at the Wits Substation (venue opposite the Wits Theatre). Imagexhi

Leave a Reply

