For the first time in my life I do not feel like a prisoner in my own body . . .

I just had the most incredible experience. My nightly ablutions in front of the wall of mirror in the bathroom is normally an intensely uncomfortable experience. The one time in my day where I can’t get away from the disparity between what’s in my head and what I see in the mirror. Tonight: I felt completely at peace with what I saw; could look at my body objectively and without emotion, for the first time in my life, because my body as it is now is just a cocoon from which I will soon emerge. For the first time in my life I do not feel like a prisoner in my own body. #embodyingbestself

Leave a Reply

