Working while trans

Having been unemployed for two months now, and in the process of going for interviews, the reality of being trans in the workplace is setting in for the first time. 

In my previous position I worked from home, so apart from gym and grocery shopping, I’ve never really had to deal with other people, and therefore, being by myself I was just me. In relation to other people my transness comes more to the fore. 

The issue of my appearance not matching my ID documents, the worry about how I’ll be perceived in the workplace, having to wear my binder all the time, the bathroom issue – it’s causing me a tremendous amount of anxiety and I’m struggling to sleep.

I realise that this is a daily reality for my trans siblings, but this is new to me and it’s really scary. 

Leave a Reply

