To my trans/queer/LGBQIA+ siblings: How my activism has changed & how my writing is a resource for you & how to use it, as well as each other

Hi, All Trans, Queer and LGBQIA+ siblings.

Again, as I’ve spoken about many times over the last month or so,  I am in self-care mode and need to focus on my journey and move beyond the pain and trauma of needing to focus all of my energy on being trans, as a person with multiple mental health conditions.

This is a privilege, I know. But this is my journey. I will ALWAYS be an educator, activist and social justice warrior. I will never shut up and be quiet. It’s who I am. So I’m here*. But I can no longer answer every person’s questions. I am only one person, recovering from serious surgery and a serious mental breakdown, and I also have a life of many stresses to lead – no job, no car since serious car accident in January and many other daily stresses. 

The biggest relief of this top surgery for me is that I, as a nonbinary person, can now focus on living my life while focusing on my other passions for helping people, and doing that in ways that don’t deplete me of energy.

The biggest issue in the South African trans community is not that there aren’t enough resources; it’s that the resources don’t know about the other resources. I am NOT the face of trans. No ONE person is. There are many. Help each other help yourselves. Make the circle of knowledge bigger. 

There are enough resources out there, and I have made sure to leave all the resources I have gathered over the last 5 years as a trans activist, mental health educator and human being living life in a madly beautiful world are here.

I have created blog posts and pages with as many resources as I could gather with the help of recommendations by other trans people, trans and queer NGOs, trans-friendly medical and mental health professionals, other activists and even how to start your own crowdfunder, a step by step of how to get top surgery at Helen Joseph, and a list of all the trans/queer surgeries at Helen Joseph.

ALL the info that I have is here.  Please don’t ask me for more. Again, love and Spoonie love welcome, and questions about how I’m feeling and adjusting, which for energy-saving sake will turn into blog posts I can refer you to. These kinds of support and questions help me.

The resources and how to find them

1. This blog: Use the search bar to search for topics, or head to the menu at the top:

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 12.44.03.png

2. This blog and my journey is also available via links  on Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter and Instagram

3. Resources for LGBQIA+, Trans & Queer People, partners, family & allies: South Africa & Africa

3. trans, queer & LGBQIA+ surgeries (Helen Joseph, Johannesburg) 

4. The process of top surgery at Helen Joseph: 

5. How & why to raise money for trans, queer & LGBQIA+ surgery through online funding – crowdfunding (South Africa) 

6. Resources for medical/mental healthcare professionals/researchers: Education on trans, queer & LGBQIA+ issues & needs

* Again, love and Spoonie love welcome, and questions about how I’m feeling and adjusting, which for energy-saving sake will turn into blog posts I can refer you to. These kinds of support and questions help me.

I will never stop being visibly queer, trans; I will never stop speaking about things that other people don’t speak about.

I will never be quiet about mental illness or the struggles I face as a human being, and the struggles the rest of South Africa faces as black human beings who experience so much more trauma and difficulty than I can imagine.

I am here. Just in a new way.

Love to you ALL, and thank you for your constant support. You have REALLY kept me going through dark times and helped me focus on excitement and joy during joyful times.

Ngiyakuthanda kakhulu. Love. Liefde. 

Leave a Reply

